Mozambique National Policy and Governance Assessment for Management of Marine and Coastal Resources

Type of content: 
Year Published: 
Topics of the content: 
Geographical Information: 

Mozambique, bathed by the Indian Ocean in its entire eastern side, is located in SouthEast Africa, between the parallels 10°27’S and 26°52’S. It is limited by Tanzania and Malawi, in its northern part; by Zambia and Zimbabwe, on the western side; and by Swaziland and South Africa, in its south-western and southern parts.

It has a terrestrial area of 801,590 Km2 and a coastline of more than 2,700 Km, being one of the longest in Africa. The continental shelf has an area of 120,000 Km2 (Mozambique National Coastal Strategy, 2004). Seven (Cabo-Delgado, Nampula, Zambézia, Sofala, Inhambane, Gaza and Maputo) of its ten provinces are coastal, and forty two (32.8%) of its one hundred and twenty eight districts are coastal. Six (Maputo, Xai-Xai, Inhambane, Beira, Quelimane, Pemba) of the ten important cities of the country, are located at the coast, being two (Maputo and Beira), the most important (Gove and Mechisso, 2010).

Intellectual Property: 
Legal disclaimer statement(s)