protected marine zone

Year Published: 
Geographical Information: 
Type of content: 

This report presents an up-to-date analysis and synthesis of the Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) of the Eastern African Region covering the States of Comoros, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, and Tanzania. The report also reviews the successful approaches to the management of MPAs and Integrated Coastal Management (ICM) projects in Eastern Africa. Strategies for effective management of the MPAs to integrate local community concerns are also presented.