Joel Nageon de Lestang

Year Published: 
Geographical Information: 
Type of content: 

The Seychelles is an archipelago consisting of 115 granite and coral islands that occupy a land area of 445 sq. km within an Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of 1.3 million sq. km in the South Western Indian Ocean between 4 and 9 degrees south of the equator.

The country’s population is currently estimated at around 87,300 (2010).1 Approximately 90% of the population and infrastructure is located on the main island of Mahe. The country has a per capita income of around US$ 7,000. Tourism, fisheries and a growing industrial sector dominate the economy of the country.