Seychelles acceded to the Nairobi Convention on 20 June 1990

Unless stated otherwise, the data quoted in this page are cited from publications by Nairobi Convention Secretariat and UNDP (see bottom of page for list).


Seychelles is made up of 115 islands, 41 of which are primarily made of granite rocks (i.e. granitic islands) and 74 are low lying islands with dry, infertile soils (coralline islands). The country has an exclusive economic zone of about 1.34 million km2.

The main islands are Mahé, Praslin and La Digue, with a total area of 455 km2 and coastline of approximately 746 km.

Seychelles currently has a population of 97,866 people.

Seychelles has appointed a Focal Point to the Nairobi Convention to help coordinate efforts to protect, manage, and use the Western Indian Ocean at the national level.


Ocean Economy

Marine and Coastal Resources Governance

Data and Dashboards

Nairobi Convention Engagement

Other Resources