Focal Points

The focal points institutions have been supported to operationalize their offices and to initiate a reporting mechanism for the Convention by compiling national status reports on the coastal and marine environment.

The support has also contributed to strengthening the task forces of the Convention, such as the Forum of Academic and Research Institutions (FARI) and the Coral Reef Task Force (CRTF). The national reporting mechanism for the Convention and the strengthened task forces will give guidance on national priorities within coastal and marine management in preparation for the Convention’s Work Programme for 2008 and onwards.

Roles of Nairobi Convention Focal Points

  • To coordinate information flow from national institutions, NGOs and locally based national, bilateral or multilateral projects and ensuring the dissemination of information to and within the convention area.
  • To act as links to other Multilateral Environment Agreements, International Organizations and Fisheries related Conventions. The focal points will report to COP through the Forum of the Focal Points of the Nairobi Convention on areas of synergy between the work plans of all the Conventions at the National level.
  • To ensure inter-sectoral coordination on the implementation of all activities approved by Contracting Parties meeting.
  • To serve as the channel for all formal communications between the Secretariat and the governments and National collaborating institutions and task force members.
  • To participate in preparation of biennial work plans as national experts, and ensure preparation and submission of reports on the implementation of biennial work plans and reports or relevant activities implemented at the national level by Government departments, UN agencies, NGOs. Coordinate the preparation and the state of the marine environment as contribution to the regional report to the COP.
  • To participate in or assure adequate representation at the meetings of the National Focal Points Forum at least once every year and at the COP meetings.
  • To participate in all resource mobilization activities in consultation with the vice chair responsible for and to ensure regular and timely contributions by participating governments to the Eastern African Trust Fund.

Strengthening of the focal points will continue to be a priority, and will build on the momentum generated through the focal point forum, development of specific terms of reference and the initiation of a reporting mechanism for the Convention.

List of Contracting Parties’ Focal Points

(Updated: February 2023)

Contracting Party Focal Point Technical Focal Point 

Monsieur Ismaël BACHIROU

Directeur de cabinet du Ministre

De l’Agriculture de la Pêche de l’Environnement du Tourisme et de

BP 41 Moroni- COMORES
Mobile ; +269 333 12 10


Monsieur Ambadi Issouf Miradji

Head of Sustainable Development Department

Office of the Directorate General of Environment

B.P; Moroni Union Des Comores




Juriste / Lawyer – Négociations ONU “BBNJ”, Océan indien, Océanie, Pacifique
Direction de l’Action européenne et internationale/SAI/BBE

Paris La Grande Arche Paroi sud 92055 LA DÉFENSE CEDEX
Tel : +33 140813149 – Mobile : +33 633907502



M. Nabil Medaghri Alaoui

Protection internationale des océans
Sous-direction de l’environnement et du climat
Ministère de l’Europe et des affaires étrangères
27 rue de la Convention,
CS 91533, 75732 Paris Cedex 15
Tél. : 01 43 17 70 52

E-mail :


Hon. Roselinda Soipan Tuya

Cabinet Secretary Ministry of Environment and Forestry

NHIF Building 12″‘ Floor, Ragatl Road

P. 0. Box 30126-00100 NAIROBI

Tel: +254 20 2730808/9


Eng. Festus K. Ng’eno

Principal Secretary Ministry of Environment and Forestry State Department for Environment & Climate Change

NHIF Building le Floor, Ragati Road

P. 0. Box 30126-00100 NAIROBI

Tel: +254 20 2730808/9


Dr. Pacifica F. A. Ogola


Directorate of Climate Change

Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources

Nairobi, Kenya.



Mr. Jacquis Rasoanaina

Point Focal National de la Convention de Nairobi

Ministère de l’Environnment, de l’Ecologie, de la Mer et des Forêts, Directeur des Aires Marines Protégèes

Antananarivo, Madagascar





Mrs. Moheenee Nathoo

Permanent Secretary

Ministry of Environment, Solid Waste Management and Climate Change




Jogeeswar Seewoobaduth


Mr. Ramchurn Seenauth

Divisional Environment Officer

Ministry of Environment, Solid Waste Management and Climate Change

Ken Lee Towers, Cnr Barracks and St. Georges Streets

Port Louis, Mauritius.

Tel: +230 203 62 00 Ext: 298



Eng. Alexandre Paulo Macundje Bartolomeu (Mr)

Head of Departament of Environmental Management National Directorate of Environment Ministry of Land and Environment

Av. Acordos de Lusaka, 2115,

P.O.Box 2020


Mobile: +258 82 9076149/ 84 7972733



Cc: Sidonia Muhorro



Ms. Nanette Laure

Director General

Water, Enforcement and Permits Division

Minister of Environment, Energy and Climate Change




Mr. Ahmed Y. Ahmed 

Director General of Environment

Office of the Prime Minister

The Federal Republic of Somalia

Mobile: +252617886632


United Republic of Tanzania

Ms. Mary Ngelela Maganga

Permanent Secretary,

Vice President’s Office,

United Republic of Tanzania

PO Box 2502 Dodoma



Ms. Magdalena Gerald Ngotolainyo

Vice President’s Office,

United Republic of Tanzania

PO Box 2502 Dodoma

Republic of South Africa

Mr. Lisolomzi Fikizolo

Chief Director

Specialist Monitoring Services

Environment and Sustainable Development.

V&A Waterfront, Cape Town, 8002, South Africa

Tel: +27 (0) 21 819 2608


Mr. Yamkela Mngxe

Department of Environmental Affairs – Ocean and Coasts Branch, Chief Directorate: Specialist monitoring Services

Directorate: Large Integrated Projects and International Coordination, Cape Town, 8002, South Africa