Republic of South Africa

South Africa ratified the Nairobi Convention on 16 May 2003.

Unless stated otherwise, the data quoted in this page are cited from publications by Nairobi Convention Secretariat and UNDP (see bottom of page for list).


South Africa straddles three oceans: the Atlantic, the Indian and the Southern. Its coastline stretches from its border with Namibia in the west to where it meets Mozambique in the east.

The coastline’s total length is 3,900 km, including the sub-Antarctic islands, and has an Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of 1.5 million square km.

South Africa has two main ocean currents: the Agulhas and the Benguela currents.

The United Nations’[1] estimate in 2019 of the South Africa’s population was 58,558,270.

Coastal and marine resources are governed through the Department of Environmental Affairs, Forestry and Fisheries:  South Africa has appointed a Focal Point to the Nairobi Convention to help coordinate efforts to protect, manage, and use the Western Indian Ocean at the national level.


Ocean Economy

Marine and Coastal Resources Governance

Data and Dashboards

Nairobi Convention Engagement

Other Resources