Comoros ratified the Nairobi Convention on 26 September 1994.

Unless stated otherwise, the data quoted in this page are cited from publications by Nairobi Convention Secretariat and UNDP (see bottom of page for list).


The Comoros archipelago is located in the Indian Ocean, to the north of the Mozambique Channel, 350 km northwest of Madagascar and 250 km from the coast of Mozambique. It comprises of three volcanic islands: Grande Comore (Ngazidja), Anjouan (Nzwani) and Moheli (Mwali) which form the Union of the Comoros (hereafter referred to as the Comoros).

The Comoros EEZ is an estimated 160,000 km² covering 427 km of coastline and it is surrounded by several other EEZs, including those of France, Madagascar, Mozambique, Seychelles and Tanzania.

Comoros has an estimated 2019 population of 850,886.

The primary national environmental institution in Comoros is the Directorate General of the Environment, established under Decree No. 93-115 and elaborated by subsidiary regulation No. 93-20/MDRPE-CAB.

The Nairobi Convention Focal Ministry in Comoros is the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and the Environment (MAPE). The country has appointed a Focal Point to the Nairobi Convention to help coordinate efforts to protect, manage, and use the Western Indian Ocean at the national level.

*The Comorian government wishes to reiterate that Mayotte is part and parcel of its territory as per resolutions by the United Nations and the African Union.

* Please note that the designations employed and the presentations of material on this page do not imply the expressions of any opinion whatsoever on the part of UNEP/Nairobi Convention or contributory organisations concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city area or its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries or the designation of its name, frontiers or boundaries.


Ocean Economy

Marine and Coastal Resources Governance

Data and Dashboards

Nairobi Convention Engagement

Other Resources