Mozambique acceded to the Nairobi Convention on 4 March 1999

Unless stated otherwise, the data quoted in this page are cited from publications by Nairobi Convention Secretariat and UNDP (see bottom of page for list).


Mozambique is in the southeastern part of the African Continent and has a total surface area of 784,032 km2. The country possesses the third longest coastline in the Indian Ocean, covering a total distance of 2700 km, with the total continental shelf area measuring approximately 104,300 km2.

The Mozambique Channel separates Mozambique from Madagascar and is an important source region for the Agulhas current, one of the major western boundary currents. The Mozambique Channel is also one of the two routes through which the South Equatorial Current feeds the Agulhas Current.

Mozambique has an extensive aquatic network that includes about 100 principal river basins and nine international rivers, including the Rovuma, Zambezi, Save, Limpopo and Incomati Rivers.

In 2017, the population of Mozambique was 30 million.

Mozambique has established the Ministry of Sea, Inland Water and Fisheries and a National Council for Sustainable Development (NCSD), a platform that ensures that development action in natural resources is coordinated.

Mozambique has appointed a Focal Point to the Nairobi Convention to help coordinate efforts to protect, manage, and use the Western Indian Ocean at the national level.



Ocean Economy

Marine and Coastal Resources Governance

Data and Dashboards

Nairobi Convention Engagement

Other Resources